Monumenti italiani

by Alunni delle classi 5^ C - D Students of classes 5 ^ C - D

Monumenti italiani

by Alunni delle classi 5^ C - D Students of classes 5 ^ C - D

The Flavian Amphitheater, better known as the Colosseum,  It is one of the most famous Roman monuments in the world.  do.  The name Colosseum derives from the enormous bronze statue of Nero-  which was erected nearby and which, given its size,  it was known as the Colossus of Nero.The Colosseum was built with the specific purpose of giving  Rome a place worthy of the fame of its gladia games  torii; known throughout the world as a symbol of the city of Rome and one of the symbols of ItalyThe external façade (up to 48.50 m high) is in travertine with 80 numbered arches, supported by pillarsInside the cavea with the steps for the spectator seats was entirely in marbleThe oval arena (86 × 54 m) had a part paving in masonry and part in wood plank, and was covered with sand, constantly cleaned, to absorb the blood of the killingsPosted in 1980 in the list of World Heritage Sites by UNESCO


The tower of Pisa is the bell tower of the cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta, in the famous Piazza del Duomo better known as Piazza dei Miracoli, of which it is the most famous monument because of the characteristic slope, symbol of the city and among the iconic symbols of Italy . It is a stand-alone bell tower 57 meters high, built over two centuries, between the twelfth and fourteenth centuries, it was founded precisely on 9 August 1173 with the laying of the first stone, it is the work of Bonanno Pisano.

. The slope is due to a subsidence of the underlying land that occurred already in the early stages of construction.

The interior, in fact, of the Tower of Pisa is nothing but the cavity of an enormous cylinder; a bit skeletal with respect to the external elegance of those 207 columns, harmoniously distributed over seven orders or floors in addition to the belfry, which make it resemble lace.

The seven levels of the tower represent the seven ways of Christ, and the seven phases of life, the seven harmonic spheres for which the soul must pass, with the help of the seven gifts of the holy spirit, to reach God.

It was from up here that Galileo Galilei, born here in Pisa, dropped objects to make experiments on falling bodies.


More in the next pages!

To our wonderful community of readers:

The author has made this book available to you free of charge. We'd be really grateful if you'd consider one of the following:

  • Donating a dollar to the author

  • If you enjoyed the book, leave a like!

  • Write a few words of encouragement in the comments section below

  • Share it with your friends, you can use this shortlink:

Thanks for your generosity!
Mel, Ran, Shuli and the Ourboox team

This free digital picture e-book was brought to you by

Create your own free book

Ourboox is the world's simplest free platform for creating, sharing and promoting digital picture e-books.

Join us now and make your books come true.


Leave a Reply